1 – Users, Groups and Roles in Z Flow

You are here:
< Back

With Z Flow being one of the best people-centric workflow management systems it is only natural that it has rich capabilities for managing users and related information for process workflow management. User management is the purview of Z Flow administrators and only users that have the “admin” role have access to User Management capabilities.

Users

Users from different parts of your organization, suppliers, customers and your partners are central to Z Flow. These users can create new process workflow instances, complete workflow activities, manage and share individual, team or organizational level data in Repository, find status and workflow specific information.

 

 

Adding New Users

Administrators of Z Flow can add users using import tools or by creating users one at a time. The following shows how to create a new user in Z Flow.

 

 

Inviting New Users

The easier option would be to invite users. Z Flow adds the invited users with the role assigned and sends an email with a temporary password.

 

Deactivating Users

There are times a user may have to be deactivated. Deactivated users cannot log into the system. Administrators can deactivate the users by selecting users from the existing users list and selecting the “Deactivate” button (shown below in the picture)

 

Activating Users

Deactivated users can be activated again by following a similar process (shown below in the picture).

Roles

Users roles are a central concept in Z Flow and determine what users can and cannot do within Z Flow. Roles can be used to configure what users can and cannot do in the following areas

  • Access and authorizations (View, Read, Write permissions) for Repository folders
  • Permissions to View/Create Process Workflow instances
  • System level capabilities such as Search and Reports

Default Roles

Z Flow comes with a set of default roles, including admin, user, customer, supplier and guest.  All except the admin role can be edited to fit the security and process needs of your organization.

Creating New Roles

New roles can also be created using the New Role menu option or using “Create” option at the bottom of the existing roles list.

 

 

Editing Role Privileges

Role privileges (what users have access to and what they can do at the system level) can be edited by selecting the role and selecting the “Roles Privileges” button as shown below

 

 

 

Groups

Groups are also an important feature of Z Flow. Groups can be used in the following scenarios

  • Access and authorizations (View, Read, Write permissions) for Repository folders
  • Permissions to View/Create Process Workflow instances
  • Perform an activity as part of a workflow
  • Notifications in workflow

The following menu flow list the existing groups in the system.

 

 

 

Creating a New Group

You can also create a new Group with the menu flow (User Management > Groups > New Group) or using the “Create” button at the bottom the existing list of groups.

 

Adding/Removing Users to a Group

The primary function of a group is to represent a group of users of Z Flow. You can add/remove users to a group selecting a group from the list and selecting the “Add/Remove Users” button.

 

You can then select existing users or selected users (shown below) and use appropriate arrows to add/remove users to the group. Finally select “Save” button to the save the group.